Start reading now!

“Mary Widdicks just keeps getting better and better. The tension, the richly-detailed atmosphere. Treat yourself to her dark spell and enjoy the ride.”
The Mermaid Asylum Series (click for more)

The Mermaid Asylum Series (click for more)

Short stories (click for more)

Short stories (click for more)


Praise for the Mermaid Asylum Series

Widdicks’ prose is nuanced, subtle, and fully immerses the reader in the plot. A Mutual Addiction evokes the deepest, perhaps the most guarded of thoughts. Truly a remarkable read, standing well-beyond the cacophony of most contemporary fiction.
— Amazon Review
Emotional, eerie, and delightfully demented, A Mutual Addiction worms its way into your psyche and refuses to relent until the final breathtaking page.
— Meghan O’Flynn, Best-selling author of The Ash Park series. 
Get ready to check your moral compass at the door for a few hours, and then prepare to be terrified of what you see in this compulsively readable book.
— Tracie Martin, author of Follow Me Down
A twisted tale of love lost and obsession gained, A Mutual Addiction will appeal to fans of Mary Kubica and Karin Slaughter.
— Wendy Heard, Author of Hunting Annabelle
Cressida is fascinating, intelligent, even sympathetic, all while being increasingly scary and completely unhinged. I promise, you will have a hard time getting her out of your head.
— Bookbub Review
“Cressida brings the reader through an uncanny and twisted journey as dark as the Pacific Northwest forests can get.”
— Amazon Review
“Riveting up to the last word...leaves you wanting...no...NEEDING more.”
— Amazon Review
“Beautifully written with complicated, engaging characters and a fantastic twist.”
— Kristen Mae, Best-selling author of The Conch Garden series

Want to know more about the Mermaid Asylum Series?

Check out A Mutual Addiction (Book 1) today!

A lonely therapist who can't dream, her elusive patient who might be the cure, and the mutual addiction that could either save or destroy them both.

Welcome to the Mermaid Asylum…

Like children to the pied piper, the townsfolk were drawn to its sorrow, to its grotesque grey spires jutting out from among the cheery seaside town like the horns of the Kraken.



Before A Mutual Addiction, Cressida Dunhill was just your average insomniac.

It's just a normal Tuesday morning in the sleepy fishing town of Silverside, Oregon. The crabbers come early to check their traps. Every Tuesday just before dawn. Like clockwork. There’s no need for a blaring horn to disturb the peace because there isn’t another vessel for miles.

Just Cressida alone on the beach.

1545366214.png

The sky crackles and the sea hums. The world goes quiet, just for a moment, like it’s afraid to draw even a single breath. The stillness is electrifying. But something isn’t right.

Something is out of place...

A sound. Out of place in the frozen dawn. Bustling and squabbling. Feathers beating against the air and snapping against rough brick. Sharp claws scraping stone like flint. Seagulls line up along the rockface and down the angled stilts on either side of the overhang that forms a cave beneath the old Mermaid Asylum.

They don’t move, not even to blink. Still as gargoyles guarding some mythical treasure. Cressida's treasure.

And they’re beckoning her inside…


Folie a Deux (Mermaid Asylum Book 2)

Folie a Deux street team.png

Cressida is back…and this time she’s not alone.

"Human madness is oftentimes a cunning and most feline thing. When you think it fled, it may have but become transfigured into some still subtler form." Herman Melville, Moby Dick.

Cressida is back. And this time she’s not alone...

Another body washed up on the shores of the Mermaid Asylum. The police ruled it a suicide: the desperate act of a woman obsessed with the legend. But Cressida knows better. Addictions aren't so easy to kill.

It’s been two months since Cressida abandoned her life, her psychology practice, and her buried memories back in the eerie fishing town of Silverside, Oregon. Freed from the death-like grasp of dreamless sleep, Cressida’s new existence is interminably ordinary. Her cavernous downtown Portland apartment is walking distance from the lounge where she tends bar, trading her old, troubled patients for even more troubled customers and drunken damsels in distress. It’s exactly the kind of life Rex wanted and Vee would have hated.

The only catch is, it’s all a lie.

Unable to escape from her newfound, vivid dreams of Vee, Cressida inhabits the dead girl’s identity. Everyone in her new life knows her as Viola Marquis, even Emmaline, the untamed teenage neighbor girl that has grown unusually attached to Cressida. Rex is in prison, a part of Vee lives on, and Cressida finally has a full life.

That is, until Cressida’s old life comes knocking at her door in the form of Silverside Police Officer John Lahey, and her dreams take a turn for the worse.

Black outs, missing items, unexplained bruises and injuries plague Cressida each morning when she wakes. It’s as if Cressida’s mind is no longer her own. And when a series of deadly fires seems to implicate both Cressida and Emmaline in crimes Cressida can’t remember committing, she begins to suspect that someone is setting her up. Punishing her for Vee’s death.

But who else knows about Cressida’s past? She must find out who is sabotaging her new life before she ends up arrested, dead, or worse…lost and alone again in the darkness of her dreamless sleep. Cressida finally has everything she’s ever wanted, and she’ll do anything to hold onto that dream.

Folie à Deux is the second novel in the Mermaid Asylum series and the sequel to the best-selling psychological thriller, A Mutual Addiction. Addictive and disturbing, Folie à Deux is a glimpse into the mind of a desperate woman. Is Cressida a killer, a victim, or just another lost soul searching for a human connection…like everyone else? Psychological fiction at its finest, it will keep you guessing until the very end.

Fans of Caroline Kepnes’s YOU and Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects will fall in love with Widdicks’ morally ambivalent and yet deceptively relatable characters.


Social media, anyone?

Mary Widdicks's books on Goodreads
A Mutual Addiction A Mutual Addiction
reviews: 5
ratings: 5 (avg rating 5.00)

Already a fan?

Join my street team and get FREE exclusive access to new books and stories before they’re available anywhere else!