A Mutual Addiction
By Mary Widdicks
A dark, delightfully bizarre story that dives deep into the psyches of unbalanced characters.
— Kirkus Reviews

More Praise for A Mutual Addiction

Widdicks’ prose is nuanced, subtle, and fully immerses the reader in the plot. A Mutual Addiction evokes the deepest, perhaps the most guarded of thoughts. Truly a remarkable read, standing well-beyond the cacophony of most contemporary fiction.
— Amazon Review
Emotional, eerie, and delightfully demented, A Mutual Addiction worms its way into your psyche and refuses to relent until the final breathtaking page.
— Meghan O’Flynn, Best-selling author of The Ash Park series. 
Get ready to check your moral compass at the door for a few hours, and then prepare to be terrified of what you see in this compulsively readable book.
— Tracie Martin, author of Follow Me Down
A twisted tale of love lost and obsession gained, A Mutual Addiction will appeal to fans of Mary Kubica and Karin Slaughter.
— Wendy Heard, Author of Hunting Annabelle
Cressida is fascinating, intelligent, even sympathetic, all while being increasingly scary and completely unhinged. I promise, you will have a hard time getting her out of your head.
— Bookbub Review
“Cressida is fascinating, intelligent, even sympathetic, all while being increasingly scary and completely unhinged. I promise, you will have a hard time getting her out of your head.”
— Goodreads Review
“Riveting up to the last word...leaves you wanting...no...NEEDING more.”
— Amazon Review
“Beautifully written with complicated, engaging characters and a fantastic twist.”
— Kristen Mae, Best-selling author of The Conch Garden series

Want to know more?

It's been 3,684 days since Cressida Dunhill last dreamed. That is, until the day she meets Vee, a water nymph of a girl who splashes color into Cressida’s dull life. Now she must safeguard the flighty girl in order to protect her new life.

But at what cost?

Facebook ad 4.png

Dreamless sleep is like dying every night and their mutual addiction might just be the cure...

A MUTUAL ADDICTION is an obsessive journey that traces the fine line between morbid fascination and dangerous fixation, and offers an unsettling glimpse into the depths of desperation and how far someone would be willing to go to protect their dreams.


Insomnia 3D cover no background small.png

Before A Mutual Addiction, Cressida Dunhill was just your average insomniac.

It's just a normal Tuesday morning in the sleepy fishing town of Silverside, Oregon. The crabbers come early to check their traps. Every Tuesday just before dawn. Like clockwork. There’s no need for a blaring horn to disturb the peace because there isn’t another vessel for miles.

Just Cressida alone on the beach.

The sky crackles and the sea hums. The world goes quiet, just for a moment, like it’s afraid to draw even a single breath. The stillness is electrifying. But something isn’t right.

Something is out of place...

A sound. Out of place in the frozen dawn. Bustling and squabbling. Feathers beating against the air and snapping against rough brick. Sharp claws scraping stone like flint. Seagulls line up along the rockface and down the angled stilts on either side of the overhang that forms a cave beneath the old Mermaid Asylum.

They don’t move, not even to blink. Still as gargoyles guarding some mythical treasure. Cressida's treasure.

And they’re beckoning her inside…


Already addicted?

Buy now from your favorite sellers!



Social media, anyone?

Mary Widdicks's books on Goodreads
A Mutual Addiction A Mutual Addiction
reviews: 5
ratings: 5 (avg rating 5.00)

A Mutual Addiction