The Mermaid Asylum

Best-selling psychological suspense series

A Mutual Addiction (Book 1)

A Mutual Addiction (Book 1)

Amazon-Best-Seller.png
Folie à  Deux (Book 2)

Folie à Deux (Book 2)

A Mutual Addiction

Mermaid Asylum (Book 1)

A dark, delightfully bizarre story that dives deep into the psyches of unbalanced characters.
— Kirkus Reviews
Join mailing list (1).png

A Mutual Addiction

A lonely therapist who can't dream, her elusive patient who might be the cure, and the mutual addiction that could either save or destroy them both.

Available NOW from any of your favorite sellers!

A Mutual Addiction
By Mary Widdicks

Not convinced?

I’m giving away the first three chapters for FREE!

A Mutual Addiction front cover small.jpg

The doctors called it aphantasia, but Cressida called it purgatory: slow, torturous emptiness…

It has been 3,684 days since the accident and as many nights since Cressida Dunhill last dreamed. Three years ago she moved to the sleepy coastal town of Silverside, Oregon to escape her bloody past, but now she’s drowning in its tedium. A psychologist specializing in dream analysis, Cressida spends her days pretending to care about the nightmares of fishermen and burnouts in a former mental institution grimly nicknamed “The Mermaid Asylum.” Yet she is condemned to spend her own nights in a dreamless fugue, more like death than sleep. 

Until the day she meets Vee, a water nymph of a girl who splashes color into Cressida’s dull life. And that night, after ten years of emptiness, Cressida suddenly dreams again. 

But are Cressida’s dreams and Vee’s appearance in her life linked? As Cressida searches for answers to her abrupt recovery, the rigid boundaries that have protected Cressida for so long break down and the women become fast friends. Perhaps too fast. And when Vee shows up to an appointment covered in bruises, Cressida begins to suspect that Vee's two-timing, musician boyfriend, Rex, could pose a threat to both Vee's future and Cressida's future dreams. 

Only she can protect them both.

Dark and atmospheric, A Mutual Addiction is a psychological journey that traces the fine line between morbid fascination and dangerous obsession, and offers an unsettling glimpse into the depths of desperation and how far someone is willing to go to protect their dreams. Widdicks’ haunting debut is HBO’s In Treatment meets Patricia Highsmith’s The Talented Mr. Ripley, but with women as both protagonist and villain. 

If you’re a fan of suspense masters like Caroline Kepnes and Gillian Flynn, you’ll be dreaming about A Mutual Addiction long after you finish.


Praise for A Mutual Addiction

Emotional, eerie, and delightfully demented, A Mutual Addiction worms its way into your psyche and refuses to relent until the final breathtaking page.
— Meghan O’Flynn, Best-selling author of The Ash Park series. 
A twisted tale of love lost and obsession gained, A Mutual Addiction will appeal to fans of Mary Kubica and Karin Slaughter.
— Wendy Heard, Author of Hunting Annabelle
Get ready to check your moral compass at the door for a few hours, and then prepare to be terrified of what you see in this compulsively readable book.
— Tracie Martin, author of Follow Me Down
Truly a remarkable read, standing well-beyond the cacophony of most contemporary fiction.
— Amazon Review
Riveting up to the last word...leaves you wanting...no...NEEDING more
— Amazon Review
Impossible to put down! An absolutely riveting thriller that is. a definite page-turner.
— Amazon Review

Available from these sellers


Did you enjoy A Mutual Addiction? Add and review it on Goodreads and Amazon to help others find it!!

Screw diamonds. Reviews are a writer’s best friend!