A Mutual Addiction

A Mermaid Asylum Novel

Available NOW from your favorite sellers!

1545169056.png
A Mutual Addiction
By Mary Widdicks

Not convinced?

I’m giving away the first three chapters for FREE! All you have to do is sign up for my newsletter.

A Mutual Addiction Cover FINAL front cover.png

The doctors called it aphantasia, but Cressida called it purgatory: slow, torturous emptiness…

It has been 3,684 days since the accident and as many nights since Cressida Dunhill last dreamed. Three years ago she moved to the sleepy coastal town of Silverside, Oregon to escape her bloody past, but now she’s drowning in its tedium. A psychologist specializing in dream analysis, Cressida spends her days pretending to care about the nightmares of fishermen and burnouts in a former mental institution grimly nicknamed “The Mermaid Asylum.” Yet she is condemned to spend her own nights in a dreamless fugue, more like death than sleep. 

Until the day she meets Vee, a water nymph of a girl who splashes color into Cressida’s dull life. And that night, after ten years of emptiness, Cressida suddenly dreams again. 

But are Cressida’s dreams and Vee’s appearance in her life linked? As Cressida searches for answers to her abrupt recovery, the rigid boundaries that have protected Cressida for so long break down and the women become fast friends. Perhaps too fast. And when Vee shows up to an appointment covered in bruises, Cressida begins to suspect that Vee's two-timing, musician boyfriend, Rex, could pose a threat to both Vee's future and Cressida's future dreams. 

Only she can protect them both.

Dark and atmospheric, A Mutual Addiction is a psychological journey that traces the fine line between morbid fascination and dangerous obsession, and offers an unsettling glimpse into the depths of desperation and how far someone is willing to go to protect their dreams. Widdicks’ haunting debut is HBO’s In Treatment meets Patricia Highsmith’s The Talented Mr. Ripley, but with women as both protagonist and villain. 

If you’re a fan of suspense masters like Caroline Kepnes and Gillian Flynn, you’ll be dreaming about A Mutual Addiction long after you finish.

A dark, delightfully bizarre story that dives deep into the psyches of unbalanced characters.
— Kirkus Reviews
Emotional, eerie, and delightfully demented, A Mutual Addiction worms its way into your psyche and refuses to relent until the final breathtaking page.
— Meghan O’Flynn, Best-selling author of The Ash Park series. 
A twisted tale of love lost and obsession gained, A Mutual Addiction will appeal to fans of Mary Kubica and Karin Slaughter.
— Wendy Heard, Author of Hunting Annabelle
Get ready to check your moral compass at the door for a few hours, and then prepare to be terrified of what you see in this compulsively readable book.
— Tracie Martin, author of Follow Me Down

Available from these sellers


Did you enjoy A Mutual Addiction? Add and review it on Goodreads and Amazon to help others find it!!

Screw diamonds. Reviews are a writer’s best friend!


Insomnia

A Mermaid Asylum Short

Start at the beginning…

Before A Mutual Addiction, Cressida was just your average insomniac…

It's just a normal Tuesday morning in the sleepy fishing town of Silverside, Oregon. The crabbers come early to check their traps. Every Tuesday just before dawn. Like clockwork. There’s no need for a blaring horn to disturb the peace because there isn’t another vessel for miles.

Just Cressida alone on the beach.

The sky crackles and the sea hums. The world goes quiet, just for a moment, like it’s afraid to draw even a single breath. The stillness is electrifying. But something isn’t right.

Something is out of place...

A sound. Out of place in the frozen dawn. Bustling and squabbling. Feathers beating against the air and snapping against rough brick. Sharp claws scraping stone like flint. Seagulls line up along the rockface and down the angled stilts on either side of the overhang that forms a cave beneath the old Mermaid Asylum. Their fat bodies huddle together against the cold and their feathers ruffle in the wind. They don’t move, not even to blink. 
Still as gargoyles guarding some mythical treasure. Cressida's treasure. 


And they’re beckoning her inside.


"Insomnia delivers Widdicks’ usual bone-chilling dose of creeping dread and atmospheric lyricism.”    -Wendy Heard, author of Hunting Annabelle    “Lyrical and hypnotic…an ominous journey into sleep-deprived madness.”    -Meghan O’Flynn, bestselling author of the Ash Park series

"Insomnia delivers Widdicks’ usual bone-chilling dose of creeping dread and atmospheric lyricism.”

-Wendy Heard, author of Hunting Annabelle

“Lyrical and hypnotic…an ominous journey into sleep-deprived madness.”

-Meghan O’Flynn, bestselling author of the Ash Park series

The wait is over....png
A Mutual Addiction
By Mary Widdicks
Window Available now.png